Kansas Corporation Commission

The three member Commission is appointed by the Governor with the approval of the Senate. Members serve staggered four-year terms. Law provides that no more than two of the three commissioners may belong to the same political party. Commissioners elect one of their colleagues as Chair. The Chair acts as agency head with input from the other members. The Commission acts independently as a quasi-judicial branch of the government with authority to render judgments and decisions on regulated utilities.

In the absence of competition, the KCC regulates public utilities, common carriers, motor carriers, and oil and gas producers. It does not regulate most electric cooperatives, water cooperatives, municipalities, wireless telephones, long distance phone services, cable companies or the internet.

For more information on the KCC, please visit their website at:


Video Competition

The Video Competition Act of 2006 (a/k/a Senate Bill No. 449) was signed into law by Governor Kathleen Sebelius on April 13, 2006, to become effective July 1, 2006. This bill is now codified into Kansas statutes as K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 12-2021 through 12-2026 and is available at http://www.kslegislature.org/li_2012/b2011_12/statute/ 12-2023 specifically addresses the video service application process and the role of the KCC. Under this Act cable service providers no longer negotiate franchise agreements with local municipalities, but apply with the state corporation commission for state wide authority.

Under this Act, the commission is charged with promulgating regulations governing the authorization application process and granting authorization to applying companies. Regulation, K.A.R. 82-15-1, Video Service Authorization, has been adopted.

Application forms have been developed to facilitate the application process; the Kansas Video Service Authorization Initial Application and Video Service Authorization Amended, Termination or Transfer Application are now available.